Recent Updates
Recently added Catalysts

DTG+ 3TC

Phase 3

HIV Infections | Small molecule | Infectious Disease |GSK plc|Last Updated: May 27, 2026

Target and mechanism

ModalitySmall molecule

Also known as DTG Tablet, DTG

Success Probability

Subscribe to view

Market & Valuation

Subscribe to view

Trial Design

RandomizedACTIVE_CONTROLLEDDMC
Total Trials7
Total Enrollment3,094

FDA Designations

No designations recorded

Clinical trial landscape

DTG+ 3TC · 7 trials · 1 indication

Phase 3 7
NCT05917509A Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, Participant Choice and Preference of an Oral Once-daily Regimen or a Long-acting Injectable Regimen Every Two Months for Treatment of Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV-1) in Adults Who Have Not Previously Taken Antiretroviral TherapyHIV Infections
COMPLETED171 Analytics
NCT04021290Regimen Switch to Dolutegravir/Lamivudine Fixed Dose Combination From Current Antiretroviral Regimen in HIV-1 Infected and Virologically Suppressed Adults (SALSA)HIV Infections
COMPLETED493 Analytics
NCT03682848Safety and Efficacy of Dolutegravir/Lamivudine (DTG/3TC) in Therapy-naive Human Immunodeficiency Virus-1 (HIV-1) Infected AdolescentsHIV Infections
COMPLETED32 Analytics
NCT03446573Switch Study to Evaluate Dolutegravir Plus Lamivudine in Virologically Suppressed Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type 1 Positive Adults (TANGO)HIV Infections
COMPLETED743 Analytics
NCT02422797Regimen Switch to Dolutegravir + Rilpivirine From Current Antiretroviral Regimen in Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type 1 Infected and Virologically Suppressed Adults (SWORD-2)HIV Infections
COMPLETED518 Analytics
NCT02429791Regimen Switch to Dolutegravir + Rilpivirine From Current Antiretroviral Regimen in Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type 1 Infected and Virologically Suppressed Adults (SWORD-1)HIV Infections
COMPLETED510 Analytics
NCT02227238Comparative Efficacy and Safety Study of Dolutegravir and Lopinavir/Ritonavir in Second-line TreatmentHIV Infections
COMPLETED627 Analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
A Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, Participant Choice and Preference of an Oral Once-daily Regimen or a Long-acting Injectable Regimen Every Two Months for Treatment of Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV-1) in Adults Who Have Not Previously Taken Antiretroviral Therapy
HIV InfectionsUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Regimen Switch to Dolutegravir/Lamivudine Fixed Dose Combination From Current Antiretroviral Regimen in HIV-1 Infected and Virologically Suppressed Adults (SALSA)
HIV InfectionsUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Safety and Efficacy of Dolutegravir/Lamivudine (DTG/3TC) in Therapy-naive Human Immunodeficiency Virus-1 (HIV-1) Infected Adolescents
HIV InfectionsUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Switch Study to Evaluate Dolutegravir Plus Lamivudine in Virologically Suppressed Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type 1 Positive Adults (TANGO)
HIV InfectionsUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Regimen Switch to Dolutegravir + Rilpivirine From Current Antiretroviral Regimen in Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type 1 Infected and Virologically Suppressed Adults (SWORD-2)
HIV InfectionsUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Regimen Switch to Dolutegravir + Rilpivirine From Current Antiretroviral Regimen in Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type 1 Infected and Virologically Suppressed Adults (SWORD-1)
HIV InfectionsUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Comparative Efficacy and Safety Study of Dolutegravir and Lopinavir/Ritonavir in Second-line Treatment
HIV InfectionsUnlock trial analytics

Study Endpoints

Primary Endpoints

[DTG/3TC]: Time to Virologic Suppression (HIV-1 Ribonucleic Acid [RNA] <50 Copies per Millilitre [c/mL]) From Baseline (Day 1)
Baseline (Day 1) up to Month 12
[CAB + RPV LA]: Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 RNA <50 c/mL as per Snapshot Algorithm at Month 11
Month 11
Number of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 Ribonucleic Acid (RNA) >=50 Copies/Milliliter (c/mL) as Per Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Snapshot Category at Week 48
Week 48

Number of participants with plasma HIV 1 RNA \>=50 c/mL were evaluated using FDA snapshot algorithm at Week 48 to demonstrate the non-inferior antiviral activity of switching to DTG/3TC FDC once daily compared to continuation of CAR over 48 weeks. The FDA snapshot algorithm defines a participant's virologic response status using only the viral load at the predefined time point within a window of time (HIV-RNA equal to or above 50 copies/mL and HIV-RNA below 50 copies/mL ), along with study drug discontinuation status. Participants with plasma HIV 1 RNA \>=50 c/mL were termed as subjects with virologic failure. The third category of the FDA snapshot ("No virologic data") is not pre-defined as an endpoint and therefore not reported separately.

Percentage of Participants With Plasma Human Immunodeficiency Virus Type 1 (HIV-1) Ribonucleic Acid (RNA) Less Than 50 Copies Per Milliliter (c/mL) at Week 48
Week 48

Percentage of participants with plasma HIV-1 RNA \<50 c/mL was assessed at Week 48 according to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) snapshot algorithm.

Percentage of Participants With Virologic Failure Endpoint as Per Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Snapshot Category at Week 48
Week 48

Percentage of participants with virologic failure (plasma HIV-1 RNA \>=50 c/mL) was evaluated using FDA snapshot algorithm at Week 48. The Snapshot algorithm treated all participants without HIV-1 RNA data at the visit of interest (due to missing data or discontinuation of investigational product prior to the visit window) as non-responders, as well as participants who switch their concomitant antiretroviral therapy (ART) prior to the visit of interest. Intent-to-treat exposed (ITT-E) Population comprises of all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study treatment either DTG + 3TC or TBR. Participants were assessed according to the treatment to which the participant was randomized. Any participant receiving a treatment randomization number was considered to be randomized.

Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 RNA <50 c/mL at Week 48 Using Snapshot Algorithm
Week 48

Percentage of participants with plasma HIV 1 RNA \< 50 c/mL at Week 48 using the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) snapshot algorithm was assessed to demonstrate the non-inferior antiviral activity of switching to DTG+RPV once daily compared to continuation of CAR over 48 weeks in HIV-1 infected antiretroviral therapy (ART)-experienced participants. Virologic success or failure was determined by the last available HIV-1 RNA assessment while the participant was on-treatment within the window of the visit of interest. Plasma samples were collected for quantitative analysis of HIV-1 RNA.

Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 Ribonucleic Acid (RNA) <50 Copies Per Milliliter (c/mL) at Week 48
Week 48

Percentage of participants with plasma HIV 1 RNA \<50 c/mL at Week 48 using the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) snapshot algorithm was assessed to demonstrate the non-inferior activity of DTG plus 2 NRTI's compared to LPV/RTV plus 2 NRTI's. Analysis was performed on Intent-to-treat exposed (ITT-E) Population, which comprised of all randomized participants who received at least one dose of study medication. Percentage values are rounded off.

Secondary Endpoints

[DTG/3TC]: Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 RNA <50 c/mL as per Snapshot Algorithm at Month 12
Month 12
[DTG/3TC]: Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 RNA Greater Than or Equal to (>=) 50 c/mL as Per Snapshot Algorithm
Month 12
[CAB + RPV LA]: Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 RNA >= 50 c/mL as Per Snapshot Algorithm
Month 11
Unlock Study Endpoints

Study Design & Arms

AllocationNON_RANDOMIZED
MaskingNONE
ModelPARALLEL
PurposeTREATMENT

Treatment Arms

ArmTypeDescription
Participants Receiving DTG/3TC Fixed Dose Combination (FDC)EXPERIMENTAL -
Participants Receiving CAB + RPV LAEXPERIMENTAL -
Participants receiving DTG/3TC FDCEXPERIMENTALEligible participants will be randomized to receive 50 milligrams (mg)/300 mg DTG/3TC FDC therapy from Day 1 up to 52 weeks. Participants who complete 52 weeks of treatment will have the opportunity to continue receiving DTG/3TC FDC once daily in the continuation phase.
Participants receiving CARACTIVE_COMPARATOREligible participants will continue to receive CAR from Day 1 up to 52 weeks.
DTG/3TC FDCEXPERIMENTALParticipants received dolutegravir/lamivudine (DTG/3TC) (50/300 mg) Fixed Dose Combination (FDC) tablets orally once daily.
DTG + 3TC 50 mg/300 mgEXPERIMENTALParticipants will receive a single tablet of a two-drug regimen of DTG 50 mg + 3TC 300 mg once daily from Day 1 through Week 200 (Early and Late Switch Phase).
TAF based regimen (TBR)ACTIVE_COMPARATORParticipants will continue their TBR from Day 1 to Week 148 (Early Switch Phase), and eligible participants will switch to DTG + 3TC once daily from Week 148 to 200 (Late Switch Phase).
Current antiretroviral regimen (CAR)ACTIVE_COMPARATORParticipants continued to receive their current antiretroviral regimen (two nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor \[NRTIs\] + a third agent). A third agent included either an: integrase strand transfer inhibitor (INSTI), a non-nucleoside reverse transcriptase inhibitor (NNRTI) or a protease inhibitor (PI). CAR was administered according to the approved labeling in an open-label fashion up to Week 52 during early switch phase. At Week 52, participants with human immunodeficiency virus-1 (HIV-1) ribonucleic acid (RNA) \<50 copies per milliliter (c/mL), switched to DTG 50 mg + RPV 25 mg once daily and were followed-up through the Late Switch Phase, at Week 148 and through the Continuation Phase, after Week 148.
DTG + RPVEXPERIMENTALParticipants received DTG 50 milligrams (mg) + RPV 25 mg together once daily at approximately the same time, with a meal, in an open-label fashion up to Week 52 during early switch phase. Participants continued to receive DTG 50 mg + RPV 25 mg up to Week 148 during the Late Switch Phase. Participants who successfully completed 148 weeks of treatment were given the opportunity to continue to receive DTG + RPV once daily in the Continuation Phase (after Week 148).
DTG armEXPERIMENTALSubjects will receive one oral tablet of 50 mg DTG once daily plus two NRTIs selected by the investigator
LPV/RTV armACTIVE_COMPARATORSubjects will receive four oral tablets of200/50 mg LPV/RTV once daily or two oral tablets of 200/50 mg LPV/RTV twice daily plus two NRTIs selected by the investigator

Interventions

NameTypeDescription
DTG/3TCDRUGDTG/3TC FDC will be administered as an oral once daily tablet.
Cabotegravir (CAB) LADRUGCAB LA will be administered as a gluteal intramuscular injection once every 2 months in combination with RPV LA.
Rilpivirine (RPV) LADRUGRPV LA will be administered as a gluteal intramuscular injection once every 2 months in combination with CAB LA.
DTG/3TC FDCDRUGDTG/3TC FDC will be available as white, oval, film-coated tablets at a unit dose strength of 50 mg/300 mg. Participants will take DTG/3TC once daily via oral route.
CARDRUGParticipants who are randomized to the CAR arm will continue to take the current treatment until Week 52. CAR will include 2 NTRIs plus either an INI, NNRTI, or boosted PI or atazanavir unboosted.
DTG + 3TC FDCDRUGDTG + 3TC FDC was available as a 50/300 mg tablet to be given orally once daily.
DTG + 3TCDRUGDTG+3TC is supplied as white, oval, film-coated, fixed dose combination tablet. The tablets will be available in packed high density polyethylene (HDPE) bottles with induction seals and child-resistant closures.
TAF based regimen (TBR)DRUGParticipants will continue to receive their TBR.
DTG 50 mgDRUGParticipants received one oral tablet of 50 mg DTG daily administered concomitantly with RPV. Each DTG tablet contained 52.62 mg dolutegravir sodium salt, which was equivalent to 50 mg dolutegravir free acid.
RPV 25 mgDRUGParticipants received DTG 50 milligrams (mg) + RPV 25 mg together once daily at approximately the same time, with a meal, in an open-label fashion up to Week 52 during early switch phase. Participants continued to receive DTG 50 mg + RPV 25 mg up to Week 148 during the Late Switch Phase. Participants who successfully completed 148 weeks of treatment were given the opportunity to continue to receive DTG + RPV once daily in the Continuation Phase (after Week 148), one oral tablet of 25 mg RPV daily administered concomitantly with DTG along with a meal. Each RPV tablet contained 27.5 mg of rilpivirine hydrochloride, which was equivalent to 25 mg of RPV.
DTGDRUGDTG is supplied as 50 mg tablets
LPV/RTVDRUGLPV/RTV is supplied as the LPV/RTV oral tablet, which contains 200 mg of LPV and 50 mg of RTV
Two NRTIsDRUGInvestigators will choose a dual NRTI background regimen for each subject . In consultation with the medical monitor, 3TC may be added as a third NRTI to a dual-NRTI background regimen in subjects with chronic HBV infection and evidence of HIV resistance to 3TC
Unlock Study Design Details

Eligibility Criteria

Age Range18 Years to N/A
SexALL
Healthy VolunteersNo
Study Sites47

Inclusion Criteria: 1. Participants with plasma HIV-1 RNA ≥1,000 c/mL at Screening. 2. Antiretroviral-naïve participants (defined as no prior therapy with any antiretroviral agent following a diagnosis of HIV-1 infection) prior to enrolment. 3. Participant is capable of giving written informed cons...

Countries:United StatesArgentinaCanadaChileFranceGermanyItalyPuerto RicoSpainBelgiumBrazilChinaDenmarkMexicoRussiaSouth AfricaSwedenTaiwanUnited KingdomKenyaThailandAustraliaJapanNetherlandsColombiaPeruRomaniaUkraine
Unlock Eligibility Criteria

Recent Changes (Last 90 Days)

MEDIUMJun 27, 2026NCT05917509TRIAL_REMOVED: changed
MEDIUMJun 27, 2026NCT05917509TRIAL_REMOVED: changed

Frequently asked questions about DTG+ 3TC

What is DTG used for in HIV?

DTG is an investigational small molecule in Phase 3 clinical development for the treatment of HIV infections, including human immunodeficiency virus type 1. It is being studied in adults and adolescents as part of combination antiretroviral regimens, including switch studies for virologically suppressed patients and as initial therapy in treatment-naive individuals.

What does DTG target?

DTG is a small molecule antiretroviral agent. Its specific molecular target is not disclosed in the available clinical trial information. The drug is being evaluated in Phase 3 studies for HIV treatment, often in combination with other antiretrovirals such as rilpivirine or lamivudine.

Who makes DTG?

DTG is being developed by GSK plc, a pharmaceutical company listed on the stock exchange under the ticker GSK. GSK is conducting Phase 3 clinical trials to evaluate the drug's efficacy and safety in treating HIV infections across multiple countries.

What phase is DTG in?

DTG is in Phase 3 clinical development. It is an investigational drug and has not been approved by regulatory authorities. The Phase 3 trials are completed, with no active trials currently ongoing, and the drug is being studied for the treatment of HIV infections.

What clinical trials is DTG in?

DTG has been studied in several Phase 3 clinical trials, including NCT02429791 (SWORD-1), a switch study to dolutegravir plus rilpivirine in virologically suppressed adults; NCT03446573 (TANGO), a switch study to dolutegravir plus lamivudine; NCT03682848, a study in treatment-naive HIV-1 infected adolescents; and NCT05917509, a study comparing oral once-daily and long-acting injectable regimens in treatment-naive adults.

Is DTG the same as DTG Tablet?

Yes, DTG is also known as DTG Tablet. The drug is referred to by both names in clinical research contexts. It is being developed as an oral small molecule for the treatment of HIV infections and is currently in Phase 3 clinical trials.