Recent Updates
Recently added Catalysts

Tafamidis

Phase 3

ATTR-PN | Small molecule | Rare Disease |Pfizer, Inc.|Last Updated: Aug 31, 2026

Target and mechanism

Molecular targetTTR
Target classStabiliser
ModalitySmall molecule

Success Probability

Subscribe to view

Market & Valuation

Subscribe to view

Trial Design

ACTIVE_CONTROLLED
Total Trials1
Total Enrollment93

FDA Designations

No designations recorded

Clinical trial landscape

Tafamidis · 17 trials · 9 indications

Phase 3 5Phase 1 12
NCT02791230Long-term Safety of Tafamidis in Subjects With Transthyretin CardiomyopathyTransthyretin (TTR) Amyloid Cardiomyopathy
COMPLETED1,733 Analytics
NCT01994889Safety and Efficacy of Tafamidis in Patients With Transthyretin CardiomyopathyTransthyretin (TTR) Amyloid Cardiomyopathy
COMPLETED441 Analytics
NCT01435655The Effect Of Tafamidis For The Transthyretin Amyloid Polyneuropathy Patients With V30M Or Non-V30M TransthyretinTransthyretin Familial Amyloid Polyneuropathy
COMPLETED10 Analytics
NCT00935012Safety And Efficacy Evaluation Of Fx-1006a In Patients With V122i Or Wild-Type Transthyretin (TTR) Amyloid CardiomyopathyATTR-CM
COMPLETED31 Analytics
NCT00925002Safety And Efficacy Evaluation Of Fx-1006A In Subjects With Transthyretin AmyloidosisATTR-PN
COMPLETED93 Analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Long-term Safety of Tafamidis in Subjects With Transthyretin Cardiomyopathy
Transthyretin (TTR) Amyloid CardiomyopathyUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Safety and Efficacy of Tafamidis in Patients With Transthyretin Cardiomyopathy
Transthyretin (TTR) Amyloid CardiomyopathyUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
The Effect Of Tafamidis For The Transthyretin Amyloid Polyneuropathy Patients With V30M Or Non-V30M Transthyretin
Transthyretin Familial Amyloid PolyneuropathyUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Safety And Efficacy Evaluation Of Fx-1006a In Patients With V122i Or Wild-Type Transthyretin (TTR) Amyloid Cardiomyopathy
ATTR-CMUnlock trial analytics
PHASE3COMPLETED
Safety And Efficacy Evaluation Of Fx-1006A In Subjects With Transthyretin Amyloidosis
ATTR-PNUnlock trial analytics

Study Endpoints

Primary Endpoints

Time to All-Cause Mortality: Cohort A
From first dose of randomized treatment in parent study (B3461028) up to 28 days post last dose of study treatment in current extension study (B3461045), [approximately up to 91 months]

Time to all-cause mortality was calculated from first dose of randomized treatment in parent study (B3461028) to all-cause mortality events. All-cause mortality events included deaths, heart transplants and cardiac mechanical assist devices implantation treated as death. Treated participants from the parent study who discontinued prior to the start of this study were also included in this analysis as planned. Data from participants who dropped out for a liver-only transplantation were handled in the same manner as the data from all other censored participants. Censored participants were participants who completed study or discontinued from the study (including discontinued by sponsor or participants withdrew, or discontinued due to Adverse event (AE), or alive at the time of analysis. Kaplan Meier method was used for analysis. Therefore, this analysis was based on the pooled dose groups, as per the statistical analysis plan (SAP).

Number of Participants With All-Cause Mortality Events: Cohort B
B3461045: From first dose of treatment up to 28 days post last dose of study treatment (approximately up to 61 months)

All-cause mortality included all participants who had discontinue for transplantation (i.e. heart transplantation and combined heart and liver transplantation) or for implantation of a cardiac mechanical assist device, were handled in the same manner as death. Data from participants who dropped out for a liver-only transplantation were handled in the same manner as the data from all other censored participants. Censored participants were participants who completed study or discontinued from the study (including discontinued by sponsor or participants withdrew, or discontinued due to AE), or alive at the time of analysis. Kaplan Meier method was used for analysis.

Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (AEs)
B3461045: From first dose of treatment up to 28 days post last dose of study treatment (approximately up to 61 months)

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received investigational product or medical device; the event need not necessarily have a causal relationship with the treatment or usage. A treatment emergent AE was defined as an event that emerged during the treatment period that was absent before treatment or worsened during the treatment period relative to the pretreatment state. AEs included both SAEs and all Non-SAEs. A serious adverse event (SAE) was any untoward medical occurrence at any dose that: resulted in death; was life-threatening (immediate risk of death); required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; resulted in persistent or significant disability/ incapacity; resulted in congenital anomaly/birth defect; considered an important medical event.

Hierarchical Combination of All-Cause Mortality and Frequency of Cardiovascular-Related Hospitalizations
Baseline up to Month 30

All-cause mortality and frequency of cardiovascular hospitalization were analyzed using Finkelstein-Schoenfeld method. The method combines all-cause mortality and frequency of CV-related hospitalizations in a hierarchical fashion using all-cause mortality first. The method compares every participant with every other participant within strata, assigning a +1 to the "better" participant and a -1 to the "worse" participant and 0 if they are "tied". Participants who discontinued for transplantation (heart transplantation and combined heart and liver transplantation) or for implantation of a cardiac mechanical assist device, were handled in the same manner as death. 'Win' represents a participant doing better based on hierarchical comparison. The reported unit is the total "wins" for each treatment group from performing such a hierarchical comparison across all 4 strata in the study.

Number of Participants With Transthyretin (TTR) Stabilization at Week 8 Compared With Baseline as Measured by a Validated Immunoturbidimetric Assay
8 weeks

TTR tetramer level for each plasma sample was assessed using a validated immunoturbidimetric assay before and after urea denaturation. The Fraction of Initial (FOI) tetramer concentration is the ratio of the measured TTR tetramer concentration after denaturation to the measured TTR tetramer average concentration before denaturation. TTR tetramer stabilization is based on the difference between the on-treatment FOI and the baseline FOI expressed as a percentage of the baseline FOI. A patient who has the "TTR stabilization" is defined as the patient whose percent stabilization is equal to or more than 32%.

Percentage of Participants With Categories of Patient Global Assessment (PGA) for Follow-up Visit: Month 12
Month 12

Participants overall quality of life was measured by PGA. At follow-up visit, participants were asked, "How do you feel today as compared to when we talked with you at your last clinic visit for this study?" and participants responded to any of the following: markedly improved, moderately improved, mildly improved, unchanged, mildly worsened, moderately worsened or markedly worsened.

Percentage of Participants With Categories of Patient Global Assessment (PGA) for Follow-up Visit: Month 60
Month 60

Participants overall quality of life was measured by PGA. At follow-up visit, participants were asked, "How do you feel today as compared to when we talked with you at your last clinic visit for this study?" and participants responded to any of the following: markedly improved, moderately improved, mildly improved, unchanged, mildly worsened, moderately worsened or markedly worsened.

Number of Participants Classified on the Basis of New York Heart Association (NYHA) Classification at Baseline
Baseline

NYHA classified participants in 4 classes. Class I included participants with cardiac disease without limitations of physical activity. Ordinary physical activity did not cause undue fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea, or anginal pain. Class II included participants with cardiac disease with slight limitation of physical activity. They were comfortable at rest. Ordinary physical activity resulted in fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea, or anginal pain. Class III included participants with cardiac disease with marked limitation of physical activity. They were comfortable at rest. Less than ordinary physical activity caused fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea, or anginal pain. Class IV included participants with cardiac disease with the inability to carry on any physical activity without discomfort. Symptoms of cardiac insufficiency or of the anginal syndrome might be present even at rest. If any physical activity was undertaken, discomfort was increased.

Number of Participants With Change From Baseline in New York Heart Association (NYHA) Classification at Month 12
Baseline, Month 12

NYHA classified participants in 4 classes: Class I: cardiac disease without limitations of physical activity. Ordinary physical activity caused no undue fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea or angina pain. Class II: cardiac disease with slight limitation of physical activity, comfortable at rest. Ordinary physical activity resulted in fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea or angina pain. Class III: cardiac disease with marked limitation of physical activity, comfortable at rest. Less than ordinary physical activity caused fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea or angina pain. Class IV: cardiac disease with inability to carry on any physical activity without discomfort. Symptoms of cardiac insufficiency or angina syndrome might be present even at rest. If any physical activity was undertaken, discomfort was increased. Participants with change from baseline were classified as improved (shifted from higher to lower class), unchanged (no change in class) or worsened (shifted from lower to higher class).

Number of Participants With Change From Baseline in New York Heart Association (NYHA) Classification at Month 60
Baseline, Month 60

NYHA classified participants in 4 classes: Class I: cardiac disease without limitations of physical activity. Ordinary physical activity caused no undue fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea or angina pain. Class II: cardiac disease with slight limitation of physical activity, comfortable at rest. Ordinary physical activity resulted in fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea or angina pain. Class III: cardiac disease with marked limitation of physical activity, comfortable at rest. Less than ordinary physical activity caused fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea or angina pain. Class IV: cardiac disease with inability to carry on any physical activity without discomfort. Symptoms of cardiac insufficiency or angina syndrome might be present even at rest. If any physical activity was undertaken, discomfort was increased. Participants with change from baseline were classified as improved (shifted from higher to lower class), unchanged (no change in class) or worsened (shifted from lower to higher class).

Change From Baseline in Total Distance Walked During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 12
Baseline, Month 12

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. In this outcome measure, the total distance that a participant could walk in 6 minutes was evaluated.

Change From Baseline in Total Distance Walked During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 60
Baseline, Month 60

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. In this outcome measure, the total distance that a participant could walk in 6 minutes was evaluated.

Number of Participants Categorized Based on Total Distance Walked During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 12
Month 12

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. In this outcome measure, participants were categorized based on the total distance walked as Level 1 = total distance walked less than (\<) 300 meter; Level 2 = total distance walked between 300 to 374.9 meter; Level 3 = total distance walked between 375 to 449.9 meter; Level 4 = total distance walked greater than or equal to (\>=) 450 meter.

Number of Participants Categorized Based on Total Distance Walked During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 60
Month 60

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. In this outcome measure, participants were categorized based on the total distance walked as Level 1 = total distance walked \< 300 meter; Level 2 = total distance walked between 300 to 374.9 meter; Level 3 = total distance walked between 375 to 449.9 meter; Level 4 = total distance walked \>=450 meter.

Change From Baseline in Dyspnea and Fatigue Scores During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 12
Baseline, Month 12

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. Dyspnea: participants were asked to rate the difficulty of their breathing, pre-walk and post-walk at each visit, on a scale of range 0 (no breathlessness at all) to 10 (maximum breathlessness). Higher scores indicated more severity. Fatigue: participants were asked to rate the how tired they felt, pre-walk and post-walk at each visit, on a scale of range 0 (not at all) to 10 (maximal) Higher scores indicated more fatigue. At each visit, scores for pre-walk test, post-walk test and within visit difference (difference from post-walk to pre-walk) were evaluated. Change from baseline was calculated for each pre-walk test, post-walk test and within visit difference at Month 12.

Change From Baseline in Dyspnea and Fatigue Scores During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 60
Baseline, Month 60

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. Dyspnea: participants were asked to rate the difficulty of their breathing, pre-walk and post-walk at each visit, on a scale of range 0 (no breathlessness at all) to 10 (maximum breathlessness). Higher scores indicated more severity. Fatigue: participants were asked to rate the how tired they felt, pre-walk and post-walk at each visit, on a scale of range 0 (not at all) to 10 (maximal) Higher scores indicated more fatigue. At each visit, scores for pre-walk test, post-walk test and within visit difference (difference from post-walk to pre-walk) were evaluated. Change from baseline was calculated for each pre-walk test, post-walk test and within visit difference at Month 60.

Number of Participants Categorized on Basis of Change From Baseline in Total Distance Walked During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 12
Baseline, Month 12

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. In this outcome measure, participants on basis of change from baseline in total distance walked were categorized as worsened, unchanged or improved. If distance walked at a visit was greater than distance walked at baseline, then categorized as 'improved'. If distance walked at a visit was equal to distance walked at baseline, then categorized as 'unchanged'. If distance walked at a visit was less than distance walked at baseline, then categorized as 'worsened'.

Number of Participants Categorized on Basis of Change From Baseline in Total Distance Walked During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 60
Baseline, Month 60

6MWT is a sub-maximal exercise test used to assess aerobic capacity and endurance. Participants were asked to walk as far as possible for 6 minutes at a pace that was comfortable to them, and were permitted to slow down, to stop, and to rest as necessary. In this outcome measure, participants on basis of change from baseline in total distance walked were categorized as worsened, unchanged or improved. If distance walked at a visit was greater than distance walked at baseline, then categorized as 'improved'. If distance walked at a visit was equal to distance walked at baseline, then categorized as 'unchanged'. If distance walked at a visit was less than distance walked at baseline, then categorized as 'worsened'.

Change From Baseline in Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ) Summary Score at Month 12
Baseline, Month 12

KCCQ is a 23-item participant-completed questionnaire that assesses health status and health-related quality of life in participants with heart failure. Eight domain scores were calculated for the KCCQ: physical limitation, social limitation, quality of life, self-efficacy, symptom stability, symptom frequency, symptom burden, and total symptoms (calculated as the mean of symptom frequency and symptom burden scores). Two summary scores were calculated: clinical summary (calculated as mean of physical limitation and total symptom scores) and overall summary (calculated as mean of physical limitation, social limitation, total symptoms, and quality of life scores). Each domain and both summary scores were scaled to range from 0 (worse health status) to 100 (best health status); higher scores represented better health status.

Change From Baseline in Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ) Summary Score at Month 60
Baseline, Month 60

KCCQ is a 23-item participant-completed questionnaire that assesses health status and health-related quality of life in participants with heart failure. Eight domain scores were calculated for the KCCQ: physical limitation, social limitation, quality of life, self-efficacy, symptom stability, symptom frequency, symptom burden, and total symptoms (calculated as the mean of symptom frequency and symptom burden scores). Two summary scores were calculated: clinical summary (calculated as mean of physical limitation and total symptom scores) and overall summary (calculated as mean of physical limitation, social limitation, total symptoms, and quality of life scores). Each domain and both summary scores were scaled to range from 0 (worse health status) to 100 (best health status); higher scores represented better health status.

Change From Baseline in Troponin I and Troponin T Serum Levels at Month 12
Baseline, Month 12

Troponin I and troponin T are the cardiac markers. Troponin I and troponin T are part of the troponin complex, where troponin I is bound to actin in thin myofilaments and troponin T is bound to tropomyosin. Higher level of these markers is indicative of heart damage.

Change From Baseline in Troponin I and Troponin T Serum Levels at Month 60
Baseline, Month 60

Troponin I and troponin T are the cardiac markers. Troponin I and troponin T are part of the troponin complex, where troponin I is bound to actin in thin myofilaments and troponin T is bound to tropomyosin. Higher level of these markers is indicative of heart damage.

Change From Baseline in Amino-Terminal B-type Natriuretic Peptide (NT-proBNP) Serum Level at Month 12
Baseline, Month 12

NT-proBNP is biomarker of cardiac stress (myocardial necrosis and increased filling pressures/ left ventricular \[LV\] wall stress).

Change From Baseline in Serum Levels of Amino-Terminal B-type Natriuretic Peptide (NT-proBNP) at Month 60
Baseline, Month 60

NT-proBNP is biomarker of cardiac stress (myocardial necrosis and increased filling pressures/ LV wall stress).

Val30Met Group: Neuropathy Impairment Score Lower Limb (NIS-LL) Score at Baseline
Baseline (i.e. last measurement prior to first dose) of B3461020 (Fx-005)

NIS-LL: a subscale (of 37-item NIS questionnaire) that provided a total neuropathic deficit score for the lower limbs. It assess muscle weakness, reflexes, sensation; scored separately for left, right limbs. Components of muscle weakness (hip and knee flexion, hip and knee extension, ankle dorsiflexors, ankle plantar flexors, toe extensors, toe flexors) scored on scale 0 (normal) to 4 (paralysis), higher score=greater weakness. Components of reflexes (quadriceps femoris, triceps surae); sensation (touch pressure, pin-prick, vibration, joint position) scored 0=normal, 1=decreased, or 2=absent. Total possible NIS-LL score range 0-88, high score=more impairment.

Val30Met Group: Change From B3461020 Baseline in Neuropathy Impairment Score Lower Limb (NIS-LL) Score at Month 30
Baseline (i.e. last measurement prior to first dose) of B3461020 (Fx-005), Month 30

NIS-LL: a subscale (of 37-item NIS questionnaire) that provided a total neuropathic deficit score for the lower limbs. It assess muscle weakness, reflexes, sensation; scored separately for left, right limbs. Components of muscle weakness (hip and knee flexion, hip and knee extension, ankle dorsiflexors, ankle plantar flexors, toe extensors, toe flexors) scored on scale 0 (normal) to 4 (paralysis), higher score=greater weakness. Components of reflexes (quadriceps femoris, triceps surae); sensation (touch pressure, pin-prick, vibration, joint position) scored 0=normal, 1=decreased, or 2=absent. Total possible NIS-LL score range 0-88, high score=more impairment.

Val30Met Group: Change From B3461020 Baseline in Neuropathy Impairment Score Lower Limb (NIS-LL) Score at Month 66
Baseline (i.e. last measurement prior to first dose) of B3461020 (Fx-005), Month 66

NIS-LL: a subscale (of 37-item NIS questionnaire) that provided a total neuropathic deficit score for the lower limbs. It assess muscle weakness, reflexes, sensation; scored separately for left, right limbs. Components of muscle weakness (hip and knee flexion, hip and knee extension, ankle dorsiflexors, ankle plantar flexors, toe extensors, toe flexors) scored on scale 0 (normal) to 4 (paralysis), higher score=greater weakness. Components of reflexes (quadriceps femoris, triceps surae); sensation (touch pressure, pin-prick, vibration, joint position) scored 0=normal, 1=decreased, or 2=absent. Total possible NIS-LL score range 0-88, high score=more impairment.

NonVal30Met Group: Neuropathy Impairment Score Lower Limb (NIS-LL) Score at Baseline
Baseline (i.e. last measurement prior to first dose) of B3461022 (Fx1A-201)

NIS-LL: a subscale (of 37-item NIS questionnaire) that provided a total neuropathic deficit score for the lower limbs. It assess muscle weakness, reflexes, sensation; scored separately for left, right limbs. Components of muscle weakness (hip and knee flexion, hip and knee extension, ankle dorsiflexors, ankle plantar flexors, toe extensors, toe flexors) scored on scale 0 (normal) to 4 (paralysis), higher score=greater weakness. Components of reflexes (quadriceps femoris, triceps surae); sensation (touch pressure, pin-prick, vibration, joint position) scored 0=normal, 1=decreased, or 2=absent. Total possible NIS-LL score range 0-88, high score=more impairment.

NonVal30Met Group: Change From B3461022 Baseline in Neuropathy Impairment Score Lower Limb (NIS-LL) Score at Month 12
Baseline (i.e. last measurement prior to first dose) of B3461022 (Fx1A-201), Month 12

NIS-LL: a subscale (of 37-item NIS questionnaire) that provided a total neuropathic deficit score for the lower limbs. It assess muscle weakness, reflexes, sensation; scored separately for left, right limbs. Components of muscle weakness (hip and knee flexion, hip and knee extension, ankle dorsiflexors, ankle plantar flexors, toe extensors, toe flexors) scored on scale 0 (normal) to 4 (paralysis), higher score=greater weakness. Components of reflexes (quadriceps femoris, triceps surae); sensation (touch pressure, pin-prick, vibration, joint position) scored 0=normal, 1=decreased, or 2=absent. Total possible NIS-LL score range 0-88, high score=more impairment.

NonVal30Met Group: Change From B3461022 Baseline in Neuropathy Impairment Score Lower Limb (NIS-LL) Score at Month 60
Baseline (i.e. last measurement prior to first dose) of B3461022 (Fx1A-201), Month 60

NIS-LL: a subscale (of 37-item NIS questionnaire) that provided a total neuropathic deficit score for the lower limbs. It assess muscle weakness, reflexes, sensation; scored separately for left, right limbs. Components of muscle weakness (hip and knee flexion, hip and knee extension, ankle dorsiflexors, ankle plantar flexors, toe extensors, toe flexors) scored on scale 0 (normal) to 4 (paralysis), higher score=greater weakness. Components of reflexes (quadriceps femoris, triceps surae); sensation (touch pressure, pin-prick, vibration, joint position) scored 0=normal, 1=decreased, or 2=absent. Total possible NIS-LL score range 0-88, high score=more impairment.

Val30Met Group: Total Quality of Life (TQOL) Score Assessed Using Norfolk Quality of Life for Diabetic Neuropathy (QOL-DN) Questionnaire at Baseline
Baseline of B3461020 (Fx-005)

Norfolk QOL-DN: 35-item participant-rated questionnaire; assessed impact of DN on health related QOL of participants with DN. Scoring was based on 35 questions that yield a TQOL as well as 5 subscale scores: symptoms, activities of daily living (ADLs), large fiber neuropathy/physical functioning, small fiber neuropathy, and autonomic neuropathy. TQOL score: sum of all items, total possible score range= -2 to 138, where higher score=worse QOL.

Val30Met Group: Change From B3461020 Baseline in Total Quality of Life (TQOL) Score Assessed Using Norfolk Quality of Life for Diabetic Neuropathy (QOL-DN) Questionnaire at Month 30
Baseline of B3461020 (Fx-005), Month 30

Norfolk QOL-DN: 35-item participant-rated questionnaire; assessed impact of DN on health related QOL of participants with DN. Scoring was based on 35 questions that yield a TQOL as well as 5 subscale scores: symptoms, activities of daily living (ADLs), large fiber neuropathy/physical functioning, small fiber neuropathy, and autonomic neuropathy. TQOL score: sum of all items, total possible score range= -2 to 138, where higher score=worse QOL.

Val30Met Group: Change From B3461020 Baseline in Total Quality of Life (TQOL) Score Assessed Using Norfolk Quality of Life for Diabetic Neuropathy (QOL-DN) Questionnaire at Month 66
Baseline of B3461020 (Fx-005), Month 66

Norfolk QOL-DN: 35-item participant-rated questionnaire; assessed impact of DN on health related QOL of participants with DN. Scoring was based on 35 questions that yield a TQOL as well as 5 subscale scores: symptoms, activities of daily living (ADLs), large fiber neuropathy/physical functioning, small fiber neuropathy, and autonomic neuropathy. TQOL score: sum of all items, total possible score range= -2 to 138, where higher score=worse QOL.

NonVal30Met Group: Total Quality of Life (TQOL) Score Assessed Using Norfolk Quality of Life for Diabetic Neuropathy (QOL-DN) Questionnaire at Baseline
Baseline of B3461022 (Fx1A-201)

Norfolk QOL-DN: 35-item participant-rated questionnaire; assessed impact of DN on health related QOL of participants with DN. Scoring was based on 35 questions that yield a TQOL as well as 5 subscale scores: symptoms, activities of daily living (ADLs), large fiber neuropathy/physical functioning, small fiber neuropathy, and autonomic neuropathy. TQOL score: sum of all items, total possible score range= -2 to 138, where higher score=worse QOL.

NonVal30Met Group: Change From B3461022 Baseline in Total Quality of Life (TQOL) Score Assessed Using Norfolk Quality of Life for Diabetic Neuropathy (QOL-DN) Questionnaire at Month 12
Baseline of B3461022 (Fx1A-201), Month 12

Norfolk QOL-DN: 35-item participant-rated questionnaire; assessed impact of DN on health related QOL of participants with DN. Scoring was based on 35 questions that yield a TQOL as well as 5 subscale scores: symptoms, activities of daily living (ADLs), large fiber neuropathy/physical functioning, small fiber neuropathy, and autonomic neuropathy. TQOL score: sum of all items, total possible score range= -2 to 138, where higher score=worse QOL.

NonVal30Met Group: Change From B3461022 Baseline in Total Quality of Life (TQOL) Score Assessed Using Norfolk Quality of Life for Diabetic Neuropathy (QOL-DN) Questionnaire at Month 60
Baseline of B3461022 (Fx1A-201), Month 60

Norfolk QOL-DN: 35-item participant-rated questionnaire; assessed impact of DN on health related QOL of participants with DN. Scoring was based on 35 questions that yield a TQOL as well as 5 subscale scores: symptoms, activities of daily living (ADLs), large fiber neuropathy/physical functioning, small fiber neuropathy, and autonomic neuropathy. TQOL score: sum of all items, total possible score range= -2 to 138, where higher score=worse QOL.

Val30Met Group: Karnofsky Performance Scale (KPS) Score at Month 30
Month 30 (Baseline of B3461023)

KPS: used for rating participant activities of daily living on 11-step scale from 0-100, higher score=participant is better able to carry out daily activities. Score range: 100=normal no complaints; no disease evidence, 90=able to carry normal activity; minor signs/symptoms of disease, 80=normal activity with effort; some signs/symptoms, 70=cares for self; unable to carry on normal activity, 60=requires occasional assistance, but able to care for most personal needs, 50=requires considerable assistance and frequent medical care, 40=disabled; requires special care, assistance, 30=severely disabled; hospital admission is indicated although death not imminent, 20=very sick; hospital admission necessary, 10=moribund; fatal processes progressing rapidly and 0=dead. The lower the score the worse is survival for most serious illnesses. Data for KPS score was not collected in parent studies Fx-005 and Fx-006, therefore not reported for any time points from parent studies.

Val30Met Group: Karnofsky Performance Scale (KPS) Score at Month 66
Month 66 (Month 36 of B3461023)

KPS: used for rating participant activities of daily living on 11-step scale from 0-100, higher score=participant is better able to carry out daily activities. Score range: 100=normal no complaints; no disease evidence, 90=able to carry normal activity; minor signs/symptoms of disease, 80=normal activity with effort; some signs/symptoms, 70=cares for self; unable to carry on normal activity, 60=requires occasional assistance, but able to care for most personal needs, 50=requires considerable assistance and frequent medical care, 40=disabled; requires special care, assistance, 30=severely disabled; hospital admission is indicated although death not imminent, 20=very sick; hospital admission necessary, 10=moribund; fatal processes progressing rapidly and 0=dead. The lower the score the worse is survival for most serious illnesses. Data for KPS score was not collected in parent studies Fx-005 and Fx-006, therefore not reported for any time points from parent studies.

NonVal30Met Group: Karnofsky Performance Scale (KPS) Score at Baseline
Baseline of B3461022 (Fx1A-201)

Karnofsky performance scale was used for rating participant activities of daily living. It rated participant on 11-step scale ranged from 0-100, higher score=participant is better able to carry out daily activities. The lower the score, the worse the survival for most serious illnesses. Score range: 100=normal no complaints; no evidence of disease, 90=able to carry on normal activity; minor signs/symptoms of disease, 80=normal activity with effort; some signs or symptoms, 70=cares for self; unable to carry on normal activity or to do active work, 60=requires occasional assistance, but able to care for most personal needs, 50=requires considerable assistance and frequent medical care, 40=disabled; requires special care and assistance, 30=severely disabled; hospital admission is indicated although death not imminent, 20=very sick; hospital admission necessary, 10=moribund; fatal processes progressing rapidly and 0=dead, where lower score=worse survival for most serious illnesses.

NonVal30Met Group: Change From B3461022 Baseline in Karnofsky Performance Scale (KPS) Score at Month 12
Baseline of B3461022 (Fx1A-201), Month 12

Karnofsky performance scale was used for rating participant activities of daily living. It rated participant on 11-step scale ranged from 0-100, higher score=participant is better able to carry out daily activities. The lower the score, the worse the survival for most serious illnesses. Score range: 100=normal no complaints; no evidence of disease, 90=able to carry on normal activity; minor signs/symptoms of disease, 80=normal activity with effort; some signs or symptoms, 70=cares for self; unable to carry on normal activity or to do active work, 60=requires occasional assistance, but able to care for most personal needs, 50=requires considerable assistance and frequent medical care, 40=disabled; requires special care and assistance, 30=severely disabled; hospital admission is indicated although death not imminent, 20=very sick; hospital admission necessary, 10=moribund; fatal processes progressing rapidly and 0=dead, where lower score=worse survival for most serious illnesses.

NonVal30Met Group: Change From B3461022 Baseline in Karnofsky Performance Scale (KPS) Score at Month 60
Baseline of B3461022 (Fx1A-201), Month 60

Karnofsky performance scale was used for rating participant activities of daily living. It rated participant on 11-step scale ranged from 0-100, higher score=participant is better able to carry out daily activities. The lower the score, the worse the survival for most serious illnesses. Score range: 100=normal no complaints; no evidence of disease, 90=able to carry on normal activity; minor signs/symptoms of disease, 80=normal activity with effort; some signs or symptoms, 70=cares for self; unable to carry on normal activity or to do active work, 60=requires occasional assistance, but able to care for most personal needs, 50=requires considerable assistance and frequent medical care, 40=disabled; requires special care and assistance, 30=severely disabled; hospital admission is indicated although death not imminent, 20=very sick; hospital admission necessary, 10=moribund; fatal processes progressing rapidly and 0=dead, where lower score=worse survival for most serious illnesses.

Val30Met Group: Number of Participants by Ambulation Stage at Baseline
Baseline of B3461020 (Fx-005)

Ambulatory status for each Val30Met participant was collected using ambulatory data collection forms in \[B3461020 (Fx-005), B3461021 (Fx-006)\] or forms based on modified polyneuropathy disability (mPND) score in B3461023 (after protocol amendment 1.1). The data were categorized to 3 ambulation stages: Stage 1 (normal), Stage 2 (some assistance required), or Stage 3 (not ambulatory).

Val30Met Group: Number of Participants by Ambulation Stage at Month 30
Month 30

Ambulatory status for each Val30Met participant was collected using ambulatory data collection forms in \[B3461020 (Fx-005), B3461021 (Fx-006)\] or forms based on mPND score in B3461023 (after protocol amendment 1.1). The data were categorized to 3 ambulation stages: Stage 1 (normal), Stage 2 (some assistance required), or Stage 3 (not ambulatory).

Val30Met Group: Number of Participants by Ambulation Stage at Month 66
Month 66

Ambulatory status for each Val30Met participant was collected using ambulatory data collection forms in \[B3461020 (Fx-005), B3461021 (Fx-006)\] or forms based on mPND score in B3461023 (after protocol amendment 1.1). The data were categorized to 3 ambulation stages: Stage 1 (normal), Stage 2 (some assistance required), or Stage 3 (not ambulatory).

NonVal30Met Group: Number of Participants by Ambulation Stage at Baseline
Baseline of B3461022 (Fx1A-201)

Ambulatory status for each NonVal30Met participant was collected using ambulatory data collection forms in B3461022 (Fx1A-201) or forms based on mPND score in B3461023 (after protocol amendment 1.1). The data were categorized to 3 ambulation stages: Stage 1 (normal), Stage 2 (some assistance required), or Stage 3 (not ambulatory).

NonVal30Met Group: Number of Participants by Ambulation Stage at Month 12
Month 12

Ambulatory status for each NonVal30Met participant was collected using ambulatory data collection forms in B3461022 (Fx1A-201) or forms based on mPND score in B3461023 (after protocol amendment 1.1). The data were categorized to 3 ambulation stages: Stage 1 (normal), Stage 2 (some assistance required), or Stage 3 (not ambulatory).

NonVal30Met Group: Number of Participants by Ambulation Stage at Month 60
Month 60

Ambulatory status for each NonVal30Met participant was collected using ambulatory data collection forms in B3461022 (Fx1A-201) or forms based on mPND score in B3461023 (after protocol amendment 1.1). The data were categorized to 3 ambulation stages: Stage 1 (normal), Stage 2 (some assistance required), or Stage 3 (not ambulatory).

Area Under the Curve From Time Zero to Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) of tafamidis
Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144, 168 hours post dose
Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax)of tafamidis.
Pre-dose, 0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144, 168 hours post dose
Area under the plasma concentration-time profile from time 0 extrapolated to infinity (AUCinf) for rosuvastatin
Hours 0, at 30 minutes and 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose in Periods 1 and 2.

AUClast + (Clast/kel)

Apparent renal clearance (CLr) for rosuvastatin
Hours 0, at 30 minutes and 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 24, 36, 48, and 72 hours post-dose in Periods 1 and 2 for AUClast. For Ae, hours 0-24, 24-48, 48-72 hours post-dose in Periods 1 and 2.

Ae/AUClast for extravascular dosing

1. Area under the plasma concentration-time profile from time 0 extrapolated to infinite time (AUCinf)
0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144 and 168 hrs
2. Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration (Cmax)
0.5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 48, 72, 96, 120, 144 and 168 hrs
Area under the concentration-time curve 0-72 hours (AUC72)
72 hrs
maximum observed plasma concentration (Cmax)
168 hrs
Area under the concentration-time curve (AUC)
24 hours
Area Under the Curve From Time Zero to Extrapolated Infinite Time [AUC (0 - 8)]
168 hours

AUC (0 - 8)= Area under the plasma concentration versus time curve (AUC) from time zero (pre-dose) to extrapolated infinite time (0 - 8). It is obtained from AUC (0 - t) plus AUC (t - 8).

To evaluate the safety and tolerability of orally administered tafamidis in healthy volunteers at escalating doses >120 mg. Safety assessments will include spontaneous reporting of adverse events, concomitant medications, physical examination,
Day 0 and Day 6
vital signs, ECGs, and clinical laboratory tests.
Day 0 and Day 6

Secondary Endpoints

All-Cause Mortality
Baseline up to Month 30
Frequency of Cardiovascular-Related Hospitalizations
Baseline to Month 30
Change From Baseline in the Total Distance Walked During 6 Minute Walk Test (6MWT) at Month 30
Baseline, Month 30
Unlock Study Endpoints

Study Design & Arms

AllocationNA
MaskingNONE
ModelPARALLEL
PurposeTREATMENT

Treatment Arms

ArmTypeDescription
TafamidisEXPERIMENTALActive treatment - 61 mg or if not available, tafamidis meglumine 80 mg
Tafamidis - 20 mgEXPERIMENTALActive Treatment-Low dose
Tafamidis - 80 mgEXPERIMENTALActive Treatment-High Dose
PlaceboPLACEBO_COMPARATORPlacebo control
openEXPERIMENTALtafamidis
Open-LabelEXPERIMENTAL -
Test 1 tablet followed by Reference capsule followed by Test 2 tabletEXPERIMENTALOn Day 1 of each period, participants will receive a single dose of 1 of the tafamidis formulations. Each period is separated by a washout of at least 16 days between administration of study drug
Reference capsule followed by Test 1 tablet followed by Test 2 tabletEXPERIMENTALOn Day 1 of each period, participants will receive a single dose of 1 of the tafamidis formulations. Each period is separated by a washout of at least 16 days between administration of study drug
Test 2 tablet followed by Test 1 tablet followed by Reference capsuleEXPERIMENTALOn Day 1 of each period, participants will receive a single dose of 1 of the tafamidis formulations. Each period is separated by a washout of at least 16 days between administration of study drug
Test 2 tablet followed by Reference capsule followed by Test 1 tabletEXPERIMENTALOn Day 1 of each period, participants will receive a single dose of 1 of the tafamidis formulations. Each period is separated by a washout of at least 16 days between administration of study drug
Reference capsule followed by Test 2 tablet followed by Test 1 tabletEXPERIMENTALOn Day 1 of each period, participants will receive a single dose of 1 of the tafamidis formulations. Each period is separated by a washout of at least 16 days between administration of study drug
Test 1 tablet followed by Test 2 tablet followed by Reference capsuleEXPERIMENTALOn Day 1 of each period, participants will receive a single dose of 1 of the tafamidis formulations. Each period is separated by a washout of at least 16 days between administration of study drug
rosuvastatin and tafamidis fixed sequenceEXPERIMENTAL* Period 1: rosuvastatin 10 mg (single oral administration) * Washout * Period 2: tafamidis 61 mg capsule(multiple doses, twice a day) + rosuvastatin 10 mg (single oral administration)
Treatment AEXPERIMENTAL4 × 20 mg commercial tafamidis meglumine administered as soft gelatin capsules under fasted conditions
Treatment BEXPERIMENTAL10 mgA tafamidis free acid administered as a wet-milled suspension under fasted conditions
Treatment CEXPERIMENTALa dose of tafamidis free acid projected to be an equivalent of 4 × 20 mg commercial tafamidis meglumine administered as a wet-milled suspension under fasted conditions
Treatment DEXPERIMENTALa dose of tafamidis free acid projected to be an equivalent of 5 × 20 mg commercial tafamidis meglumine administered as a wet-milled suspension under fasted conditions
61 mgA tafamidis free acid soft gelatin capsule fedEXPERIMENTALfasted
61 mgA tafamidis free acid soft gelatin capsule fastedEXPERIMENTALfed
4 × 20 mg tafamidis meglumine soft gelatin capsules fedEXPERIMENTALfed
4 × 20 mg tafamidis meglumine soft gelatin capsules fastedEXPERIMENTALfasted
61 mgA tafamidis free acid soft gelatin capsuleEXPERIMENTAL -
4x20 mg tafamidis meglumine soft gelatin capsuleEXPERIMENTAL -
4x20 mg tafamidis meglumine soft gel capsuleEXPERIMENTAL -
48.8 mgA tafamidis free acid capsuleEXPERIMENTAL -
61 mgA tafamidis free acid capsuleEXPERIMENTAL -
48.8 mgA tafamidis free acid tabletEXPERIMENTAL -
58 mgA tafamidis free acid tabletEXPERIMENTAL -
4 soft gel capsules of 20 mg tafamidis meglumineEXPERIMENTAL -
48.8 mg tafamidis soft gel capsule formulation 1EXPERIMENTAL -
48.8 mg tafamidis soft get capsule formulation 2EXPERIMENTAL -
61 mg tafamidis soft gel capsule formulation 1EXPERIMENTAL -
61 mg tafamidis soft gel capsule formulation 2EXPERIMENTAL -
4 tablets of 12.2 mg tafamdis free acidEXPERIMENTAL -
4 tablets of 12.2 mg tafamidis free acidEXPERIMENTAL -
5 tablets of 12.2 mg tafamidis free acidEXPERIMENTAL -
1. TafamidisEXPERIMENTAL -
2. TafamidisEXPERIMENTAL -
Tafamudus Free AcidEXPERIMENTAL -
20 mg new soft gelatin capsuleEXPERIMENTAL -
4 capsules of 20 mg tafamidis of commercial formulationEXPERIMENTAL -
4 capsules of 12.2 mg tafamidis of free acid tabletEXPERIMENTAL -
Period 1EXPERIMENTAL240 mg tafamidis arm
Period 2EXPERIMENTAL480 mg arm
Period 3EXPERIMENTALTBD dose

Interventions

NameTypeDescription
TafamidisDRUGSoft gel capsules administered once a day for 60 months
PlaceboDRUGPlacebo in soft gel capsules administered once a day for 30 months
rosuvastatinDRUG10 mg tablet
Unlock Study Design Details

Eligibility Criteria

Age Range18 Years to N/A
SexALL
Healthy VolunteersNo
Study Sites80

Inclusion Criteria: Cohort A: Completion of 30 months of study treatment on Pfizer Protocol B3461028 Cohort B: Patients in specific countries diagnosed with ATTR-CM who did not previously participate in Pfizer Study B3461028 Exclusion Criteria: -Liver and/or heart transplant, or implanted cardia...

Countries:United StatesArgentinaAustraliaBelgiumBrazilCanadaCzechiaFranceGermanyHong KongItalyJapanNetherlandsSpainSwedenTaiwanUnited KingdomPortugalSingapore
Unlock Eligibility Criteria

Recent Changes (Last 90 Days)

HIGHAug 31, 2026NCT07587697Status: ACTIVE_NOT_RECRUITING → COMPLETED
HIGHAug 31, 2026NCT07587697Status: ACTIVE_NOT_RECRUITING → COMPLETED

Frequently asked questions about Tafamidis

What is Tafamidis used for?

Tafamidis is used for transthyretin (TTR) amyloid cardiomyopathy (ATTR-CM), transthyretin amyloid polyneuropathy (ATTR-PN), and in healthy volunteers for pharmacokinetic studies. It is a small molecule being developed by Pfizer for rare diseases.

How does Tafamidis work?

Tafamidis targets transthyretin (TTR), stabilizing the protein to prevent amyloid formation. This mechanism is relevant for TTR amyloid cardiomyopathy and polyneuropathy, where misfolded TTR deposits cause tissue damage.

Who makes Tafamidis?

Tafamidis is developed by Pfizer, Inc., traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker PFE. Pfizer is conducting clinical trials for this small molecule in rare disease indications.

What phase is Tafamidis in?

Tafamidis is in Phase 3 clinical development. It is investigational and not yet approved, with completed trials including a Phase 3 study in transthyretin familial amyloid polyneuropathy and Phase 1 studies in healthy volunteers.

What clinical trials is Tafamidis in?

Tafamidis has completed trials including NCT01435655 (Phase 3 in transthyretin familial amyloid polyneuropathy), NCT02406560 and NCT03662191 (Phase 1 in healthy volunteers), and NCT07587697 (Phase 1 in healthy adults). These studies assess pharmacokinetics and safety.

Is Tafamidis the same as PF-6291826?

Tafamidis is being studied in different forms, with one trial comparing it to PF-6291826, a different form of the drug. The study NCT03662191 evaluates the rate and extent of absorption of these two forms.